november1817:00mondayMonday Organ Concerts17:00
St. Stephen's Basilica
Bemutatkozó: J. S. Bach: Fugue in E-flat Major „Trinity” RÉSZLETEKDETAILS

Event Details


András Virágh
Zsuzsanna Gion


T. Albinoni: Adagio
J. S. Bach: „Mein gläubiges Herze” Aria Cantata for Pentecost
J. S. Bach: Fugue in E-flat Major „Holy Trinity”
C. Franck: Panis angelicus
C. Franck: Piéce heroique
Ch. Gounod: Ave Maria
J. S. Bach: Toccata and Fugue in D Minor

J. S. Bach: Fugue in E-flat Major „Trinity” BWV. 552

One of the meridians of Bach’s organ art is the Fugue in E-flat Major. Music studies apostrophe as the Trinity Fugue, because the piece is a composition of three individual fugues which represents the ternal unity of the Father-Son-Holy Spirit. The first fugue evokes the majestic calmness of the creating Father. The second theme’s fast pace music material releases Son’s young and fresh energies, which is followed by the Holy Spirit Fugue. Its independent fugue theme visions the flaming fire of the Holy Spirit and quotes the former two themes as well as it is evolving. On the highest peak of the emotionally exacerbated ternal fugue sounds the theme represents the Father’s personality, and its apotheosis closes this special composition.